Grandfather clocks

在“尖峰”隐藏其中快速汽车古董手表

13年10月23日

在一片尖叫的轮胎,欢腾的球迷和燃烧的汽车在赛车电影“疾走”,钟表爱好者可能使出来的演员手腕老式手表。

落地钟的历史过去,现在

13年7月10日

一些座钟的历史和历史的时钟永远不会过时。 只要看看西蒙·威拉德,艾伦·威拉德和本杰明·威拉德的故事。 写于1936年的一篇文章仍是知识性和趣味性于钟表历史学家为一体的今天写的。 祖父钟爱好者一定要最低限度地发现这个有趣。

里士满时报调度
1936年5月24日

祖父钟 ,一些真正的老前辈还是勾小时或及时报时装置的旋律,照顾他们的庄家用来证明

很多事情都被坐在富兰克林街店的平板玻璃窗口后面的小小组讨论。 而这是不完全正确两种。 很多东西已经开始讨论,但讨论几乎完全独白由主机,一个老兵很多长途跋涉进入古色古香的国家,在美国早期的古董一个公认的权威的腹地。 现在,然后监听员会抛出的几句话到对话,更以保持流动比任何实际用途的演讲,直到最后一个人说出那些陈腐的遗言:“是它得到什么时候要”

下意识的目光被引向高大的主导座钟对远处的墙壁。 然后,他们回落到现代的手腕的手表,并有一个共同创业的钟表指向同一个小时。 没有人提过,但有一个微妙的某种精神一致的,这是所有“只是一个巧合。”但事实并非如此。 老祖父的时钟仍然保持的时间和正确的时间。 “怎么会呢?”我徘徊质疑古董商。 从而来了这个故事,著名的老故事的美国钟表和钟表匠。 似乎觉得─当西蒙·威拉德13岁,他第一次“祖父”时钟。 当他82,他在国会大厦在华盛顿所做的大钟。 他出生于1753年,活到95岁,他身后留下了一些曾经取得的最好和最美丽的时钟。

西蒙·威拉德有大约机构,销售推广和生产没有宏伟构想。 他在四个房间的空间做了所有他的工作。 这是好事,认为西蒙的时钟,这是由手和无限的关怀和慰问制成,指挥一个更高的价格比今天那些由艾伦·威拉德,他的弟弟,谁开了一家工厂,并变成了钟表的数百发。

在弗吉尼亚州里士满的古玩店并排可以看到一个座钟由西蒙·威拉德和一个由艾伦·威拉德。 用鲜血在他的眼睛鉴赏家西蒙提出的时钟是许多细。 以休闲旁观者都时钟是美国早期的祖父(或长的情况下)时钟罕见的例子。

西蒙·威拉德“祖父”钟(左),这仍然是一流的条件。 目前,此案很帅气,其顶部弯曲细工。 都给出了月相和月的天。 西蒙·威拉德了他的第一座钟在13岁。
西蒙·威拉德货架时钟(右)。 该Willards“叫这些时钟,这是早在1784年,时计发的,因为他们没有罢工。 该工程由黄铜制成。

本杰明·威拉德,谁开始制造钟表于1764年,是亚伦和西蒙的父亲,这个著名的马萨诸塞州的家庭的第一个从事钟表制造。 波士顿公报为1771年2月22日,他标榜“音乐钟扮演着不同的曲调,新的调整,每天的一周中,并在周日诗篇调。 这些曲调执行每隔一小时。“

可靠的时钟不停清教徒的安息日

而这样一个威拉德时钟的可靠性,有一个清教徒的安息日被侵犯了一周天的曲调没有单一的纪录。 同样,美和做工而走进西蒙·威拉德的时钟的情况下是不是这些时钟带来良好的价格无论古董出售的唯​​一原因:时钟运行和他们保持好时机。

西蒙·威拉德是天才的发明家,但是这并没有阻止他成为一个节俭的美国人。 他认为钟表应该是很好的,他们应该是够便宜的为美国自己一个人,并在同一时间有足够的钱离开了房子把它放在他的小广告,依靠他的时钟的论文(和他的钟表),以在他的想法付诸表决。 其中的一个时钟论文讲述了他的故事:

西蒙·威拉德'祖父'钟(左),这仍然是一流的条件。 该案件很帅气,其顶部弧形镂空。 都赋予月球和天月的阶段。 西蒙·威拉德做了他的第一个13岁的搁架(右)。 威拉德称这些时钟,分别为1784年初,时计,因为他们没有罢工。 该工程是黄铜。

“西蒙·威拉德,他在罗克斯伯里街时钟表盘,制造各种时钟工作,如大钟的尖顶,在最好的方式制成的。 时钟将运行一年不清盘,​​非常优雅的情况下,售价100美元。 优雅白天片,价格30美元。 它跑30小时,保证,价格10美元的手表。 报时钟表,将打6曲调,价格120美元。 诸位谁愿意购买任何一种时钟被邀请在打电话说,威拉德的钟表制造,在那里他们将收到令人满意的证据,这是便宜得多,购买新的比旧的和二手的时钟。 他值得所有他的工作,并为他雄心勃勃的努力给予满足,他怀疑不接受公众的认同和赞助。“

威拉德起源的“班卓琴”时钟

虽然西蒙·威拉德知道他时钟值得,这是令人怀疑他是否梦想的认可和惠顾他们将接受不到他死后一百年。 他着手进行维修钟表的节俭的美国人能买得问心无愧。 他会怎么说,如果他能够在今天发生在销售的一些珍稀古董钟表,看节俭和机械完美了典范的价格出售四个数字? 而购买者,后人,也许,那些节俭的新英格兰客户自己的,很高兴让他们在这个价格并为他们笑着支付?

艾伦·威拉德原来他的钟表由百。 在右侧的时钟是用红木镶嵌。 另一个时钟是阿克顿,大众的纳撒尼尔·爱德华兹。

1802年威拉德提出了他的专利手表,这是后来被称为班卓琴时钟。 这是一个巨大的成功。 没有改善,至今已取得的原始设计。 据说,这样的精度确实威拉德在他的手和眼,他习惯性地提出了嵌齿轮的齿无标记他们; 并且,当有人问他为什么不杜绝了黄铜带标记,他回答说,这是不必要的,他的车轮是准确的。 和西蒙·威拉德是正确的! 一个威拉德为了时钟的一个骄傲的主人说,它已经精度在30秒内跑了一个月。

在1848年的动荡的一年西蒙·威拉德去世。他已经从业务于1839年退休,卖掉了自己的工具和业务(与把名字西蒙·威拉德在表盘的特权在一起)的良好意愿,以利拿单泰伯,他最好的徒弟。 西蒙·威拉德小了这些时钟,并在他在波士顿商店出售。

正是这个儿子,小西门,谁在哈佛大学天文台的天文钟了。 他的天文数字调节器是标准的时间,在新英格兰地区的所有铁路。

由于第一座钟出现在英国于1681年,在这个国家和国外钟表匠已经给了他们的认识与思考,所以,现在,当仿古猎人去打猎的时钟,有各种风格,每一个木材和每一个价格在他的处置这个有用的和美丽的装饰。

链接我们爱:我们正在阅读什么本周

13年5月31日

我们看一下这个星期:AD最喜欢的故事来自网络

卵石引发1500万美元的智能手表波抵达

13年5月16日

卵石,那Kickstarter上募集了超过1000万美元流行的SmartWatch,正在寻求风险投资,以帮助它从一个侧面项目过渡到一个更传统的公司。

与设计师艾丽莎库尔曼庆祝Masterpiece London伦敦艺术及古董展

13年5月16日

设计的黑体的名字在纽约聚集一堂,举杯今年夏天最好的艺术及古董展,伦敦杰作

座钟购买指南

13年5月16日

我们喜欢认为我们的2博客www.ClocksBlog.com这个博客www.GrandfatherClocksBlog.com作为终极指南比较座钟品牌和落地钟选购指南 ,帮助消费者了解不同的座钟风格,包括传统VS当代祖父时钟和奶奶时钟 ,知道至少有一些最好的之间的差异座钟品牌 ,理解,可能会或可能不会在一个座钟功能,包括座钟风铃,知道谁是机械爷爷的最好的制造商钟的运动,了解不同类型的祖父钟表运动 - 无论是石英链条驱动,电缆驱动或管状编钟,并了解最近的和旧的和不断变化的座钟厂家和祖父的时钟制造商的历史。

这是一个非常高的座钟秩序,但我们相信,我们这里有一个信息宝库,这将是任何人在市场上的座钟有用。 无论您是想购买一个古董座钟,一个老式的祖父或祖母时钟,亦或是您是否想了解市场,一般和是否购买新的座钟,我们在1-800-4CLOCKS在那里为你们俩这些博客,与许多座钟资源,请访问我们的网站1-800-4CLCOKS.com,我们永远只有一个免费电话就能在1-800-4CLOCKS,并很高兴与任何人谈论谁是严重关于市场是一个座钟或祖母时钟,更不用说地幔时钟,布谷鸟钟,挂钟,原子钟,和这么多。

我们花了大量的时间来钻研历史的落地钟本身,主要座钟品牌的发展以及如何随时间的变化,并将继续是千变万化。 我们试图去神秘化提供了许多落地钟,包括表盘照明,夜间自动关断的很多功能,工作VS人造月相表盘和这么多。 大座钟风铃是任何深思熟虑的座钟买方将要完全了解另一个关键因素,我们不能只解决了不同的机械座钟机芯制造商,以及三重钟声落地钟VS单一般威斯敏斯特编钟落地钟,而当而其中一个可能会看到一些不常见的落地钟的歌曲或风铃,如贝多芬的圣母颂或舒伯特的欢乐颂。

了解内部和座钟品牌,如霍华德米勒祖父时钟相比赫姆勒落地钟集合,或里奇韦落地钟,Kieninger时钟和美洲祖父时钟之间的差异。 所有有利弊,许多甚至在自己的祖父时钟线差异很大。

我们甚至还包括了一些关于爷爷,奶奶,墙壁,地幔,杜鹃,原子和我们的主要网站的其它钟表最热门的职位,我们称之为最佳的,喜欢音乐的最伟大的祖父时钟的命中,上岗,我们的客户和读者们发现特别有用。 我们对我们的座钟博客题目是移动祖父钟一班岗,而该页面是我们网站上的单一访问量最大的页面。 我们保证建议为你的客户买单吧,这不算什么,但我们从未有过负面的评价或更改此座钟博客最大的命中所有的时间,甚至任何建议。

任何座钟或其他计时科目您希望我们支付? 只是做一个评论这个职位,或发送电子邮件,或随时拨打我们的免费电话。 如果你想成为一个座钟博客贡献者,这一点是值得我们也是一直开着。

我们渴望成为为权威购买指南落地钟,挂钟和曼特尔时钟作为消费者报告是一般

积家与爱马仕合作的一个水晶装手表

13年5月15日

与爱马仕的瑞士钟表制造商合作上运行几乎无限的限量版手表

集体设计展亮相在纽约,展示20th-和21世纪的珍品

13年9月5日

新的设计公平展示20th-和21世纪的财宝在纽约亮相

面值

13年5月5日

在早期20世纪的美国,两个强大的男子从事大赛拥有世界上最出色的手表。

祖父钟目录

13年2月23日

作为一个长期领先的零售商祖父时钟 ,我们经常问我们的座钟目录 这是因为我们的直销作为一个座钟目录零售商有一个难忘的免费电话号码基层尤其如此。 当然,我们一直卖和特色挂钟,壁炉钟,布谷鸟钟,奶奶钟,原子钟,仿古落地钟,以及各种古董时计,包括怀表和一些惊人的古董钟表的祖母,监管机构,康格里夫钟表,斜面时钟,自动机,纯银日晷,罗盘组合等等。

古董钟表总是提出一个特殊的挑战,市场在目录中,作为有经验的拍卖行知道。 几乎总是的古董钟表只有一个或手表出售,所以列出这些手表有一个固定的价格可以创造很多麻烦。 然而,与此同时,尽管拍卖的当前出现无处不在网上和关闭,从易趣到佳士苏富比,很多买家和卖家喜欢旧的固定价格古玩市场的模式,很像人会发现在一个精致的古董钟表商店。

本博客文章很多读者,在50及以上世代,会记得在一定程度上老西尔斯-罗巴克和目录 ,从字面上设置,它开始目录直销革命的标准。 即使是目录本身成为收藏品一样,原西尔斯目录重印。

然而,快进百年的未来,这意味着今天的网络和类似1-800-4CLOCKS.com个人网站已经接管作为首选的现代化天目录。 新的祖父钟和挂钟的集合可以每天补充。 在缺货的祖母时钟可以注意到作为缺货将不辜负客户,让奶奶时钟。 完成新线和品牌可以在一天中添加。 消费者预期有关顾客的购物体验已经通过屋顶不见了,因为座钟购物者和那些寻找挂钟折扣和壁炉钟发售期待什么,他们对销售网站看到的是绝对的股票。

祖父时钟制造商如霍华德米勒时钟,里奇韦落地钟收集,Kieninger时钟和赫姆勒落地钟要好得多,比以前要提供更大的电流库存数据。 然而,与此同时,该座钟,挂钟和地幔时钟数据不会实时的。 还有一些钟表,包括Kieninger落地钟和挂钟和地幔时钟,一些赫姆勒钟模型,包括赫姆勒钟柜和曼特尔和挂钟可以有2-4个月的筹备时间,通常被认为是预付费定制订单。 这是很难沟通无论是在一个老式的直销产品目录,甚至在一个伟大的网站像一个我们在1-800-4CLOCKS。

1908 Sears Roebuck Catalog Sold Clocks and Watches

1908年西尔斯 - 罗巴克目录销售祖父钟表

好消息是,随着互联网的出现,我们能够提供两种选择,节省以前从未想象,甚至20年前。 更多的选择,在最好的祖父时钟更高的折扣,每个时钟的更好的照片,甚至听到一个特定的时钟报时,并提供超大的图片都可以真正重现座钟画廊的购物体验的能力。 一个代价是,我们许多人少砖头式卖场生存,尤其是新的,竞争的技术正在争夺一些相同的购物块钱那名先前花费在祖父钟和挂钟。 不仅可以看到当前的时间上几乎所有个人电脑或MacBook,同时也对iPhone和其他移动设备,包括三星Galaxy。

话虽如此,没有什么有座钟或挂钟或地幔时钟的旧世界的魅力竞争,无论是新的还是古董钟。 祖父的时钟是真正的家的心跳。

2 1 页2 1 2

Grandfather clocks

Vintage Timepieces Hidden Among Fast Cars in ‘Rush’

10.23.13

Amid the screaming tires, jubilant fans and flaming cars in the car-racing film “Rush,” watch lovers might make out the vintage timepieces on actors’ wrists.

Grandfather Clocks History Past-Present

10.07.13

Some grandfather clock history and clocks history never gets old.  Just look at the stories of Simon Willard, Aaron Willard and Benjamin Willard.  An article written in 1936 is still as informative and interesting to a clocks historian as one written today.  Grandfather Clocks enthusiasts are sure to minimally find this interesting.

Richmond Times-Dispatch
May 24, 1936

Grandfather Clocks, Some Genuine Old-Timers Still Tick Off Hours or Chime Timely Melodies, Proof of Care Their Makers Used

Many things had been discussed by the little group seated behind the plate glass window of a Franklin Street store. And that isn’t exactly true either. Many things had been broached, but the discussion was almost wholly a monologue by the host, a veteran of many a trek into the hinterlands of the antique country and a recognized authority on early American antiques. Now and then a listening member would throw a few words into the conversation, more to keep the oratory flowing than for any factual use, until at last someone uttered those well-worn last words: “What time is it getting to be?”

Subconsciously glances were directed toward the tall dominating grandfather clock against the far wall. Then they fell back to modern wrist-watches and there was a concerted start–for watch and clock pointed to the same hour. No one mentioned it, but there was a subtle sort of mental agreement that it was all “just a coincidence.” But it wasn’t. That old grandfather’s clock was still keeping time, and correct time. “How come?” I lingered to question the antique dealer. And thereby came this tale, a story of famous old American clocks and clockmakers.  It seems that– when Simon Willard was 13 years old he made his first “grandfather” clock. When he was 82 he made the large clock in the Capitol at Washington. He was born in 1753, lived to be 95 years old, and left behind him some of the best and most beautiful clocks that have ever been made.

Simon Willard had no grand ideas about organization, sales promotion and production. He did all his work in the space of four rooms. It is good to think that Simon’s clocks, which were made by hand and with infinite care and solicitude, command a higher price today than those made by Aaron Willard, his brother, who opened up a factory and turned out watches and clocks by the hundreds.

Side by side in a Richmond, Virginia antique shop may be seen a grandfather clock made by Simon Willard and one by Aaron Willard. To the connoisseur with blood in his eye the clock made by Simon is much the finer. To the casual onlooker both the clocks are rare examples of early American grandfather (or long case) clocks.

A Simon Willard “Grandfather” clock (left), which is still in first-class condition. The case is very handsome with its curved fretwork on top. Phases of the moon and the days of the month are both given. Simon Willard made his first Grandfather clock at the age of 13.
A Simon Willard shelf clock (right). The Willards’ called these clocks, which were made as early as 1784, timepieces, because they did not strike. The works are made of brass.

 

Benjamin Willard, who started making clocks in 1764, was the father of Aaron and Simon, and the first of this famous Massachusetts family to engage in clock-making. In the Boston Gazette for February 22, 1771, he advertised, “Musical clocks playing different tunes, a new tune every day in the week, and on Sunday a Psalm tune. These tunes perform every hour.”

Reliable Clocks Kept Puritan Sabbath

And such is the reliability of a Willard clock that there is no single record of a Puritan Sabbath being violated by week-day tunes. Likewise, the beauty and workmanship which went into the clock cases of Simon Willard is not the only reason these clocks bring good prices wherever antiques are sold: The clocks run and they keep good time.

Simon Willard was an inventor of genius, but that did not keep him from being a thrifty American. He thought that clocks ought to be good and that they ought to be cheap enough for an American to own one, and at the same time have money enough left for a house to put it in. He advertised little, relying on his clock papers (and his clocks) to put across his ideas. One of these clock papers tells his story:

A Simon Willard ‘Grandfather’ clock (left), which is still in first-class condition. The case very handsome with its curved fretwork on top. Phases of moon and days month are both given. Simon Willard made his first at age 13. A shelf (right). Willard called these clocks, were as early 1784, timepieces, because they did not strike. The works were brass.

“Simon Willard, at his Clock Dial in Roxbury Street, manufactures every kind of clock work, such as large clocks for steeples, made in the best manner. . . . Clocks that will run one year without winding up, with very elegant cases, price 100 dollars. . . . Elegant daytime pieces, price 30 dollars. Timepieces which run 30 hours and warranted, price 10 dollars. . . . Chime clocks that will play six tunes, price 120 dollars. . . . Gentlemen who wish to purchase any kind of clocks are invited to call at said Willard’s Clock Manufacture, where they will receive satisfactory evidence that it is much cheaper to purchase new than old and second-hand clocks. He warrants all his work–and as he is ambitious to give satisfaction–he doubts not of receiving public approbation and patronage.”

Willard Originated the “Banjo” Clock

Although Simon Willard knew the worth of his clocks, it is doubtful if he dreamed of the approbation and patronage they would receive less than a hundred years after his death. He set out to make serviceable clocks that thrifty Americans could buy with a clear conscience. What would he say if he could happen in today on some sale of rare antique clocks and see his paragons of thrift and mechanical perfection sold for prices for four figures? And the purchasers, descendants, perhaps, of those thrifty New England customers of his, glad to get them at that price and paying for them with a smile?

Aaron Willard turned out his clocks by the hundred. The clock at right is mahogany with inlay. The other clock is by Nathaniel Edwards of Acton, Mass.

In 1802 Willard brought out his patent timepiece, which was later called the banjo clock. It was a prodigious success. No improvement has since been made on the original design. The story goes that such accuracy did Willard have in his hand and eye that he habitually filed the teeth of his cogwheels without marking them; and that when someone asked him why he didn’t stamp his brass with markers, he replied that it was unnecessary–his wheels were accurate. And Simon Willard was right! One proud owner of a Willard order clock says that it has run within 30 seconds of accuracy for a month.

Simon Willard died during the turbulent year of 1848. He had retired from business in 1839 and sold his tools and the good will of the business (together with the privilege of putting the name Simon Willard on the dials) to Elnathan Taber, his best apprentice. Simon Willard Jr. took these clocks and sold them at his shop in Boston.

It was this son, Simon Jr., who made the astronomical clock now in the observatory of Harvard University. His astronomical regulator was standard time for all railroads in New England.

Since the first grandfather clock appeared in England in 1681, clockmakers in this country and abroad have given them thought and consideration, so that now, when the antique hunter goes clock hunting, there is every style, every wood and every price at his disposal for this useful and beautiful ornament.

Links We Love: What we’re reading this week

05.31.13

What we’re reading this week: AD’s favorite stories from around the web

Pebble Raises $15 Million as Wave of Smart Watches Arrives

05.16.13

Pebble, the popular smartwatch that raised more than $10 million on Kickstarter, is looking to venture capital to help it transition from a side project to a more traditional company.

Celebrating the Masterpiece London art and antiques fair with designer Elissa Cullman

05.16.13

Design’s boldface names gather in New York to toast this summer’s best art and antiques fair, Masterpiece London

Grandfather Clock Buying Guide

05.16.13

We like to think of our 2 blogs www.ClocksBlog.com and this blog www.GrandfatherClocksBlog.com as the ultimate guide to comparing grandfather clock brands and THE Grandfather Clock Buying Guide, helping consumers to understand the different grandfather clock styles, including traditional vs contemporary grandfather clocks and grandmother clocks, knowing at least some of the differences between the best grandfather clock brands, understanding the features that may or may not be in a grandfather clock, including the grandfather clock chimes, knowing who are the best makers of mechanical grandfather clock movements, understanding the different types of grandfather clocks movements – whether it be quartz chain-driven, cable-driven or tubular chimes, and understanding the more recent and older and ever-changing history of grandfather clock manufacturers and grandfather clock makers.

This is a very tall grandfather clock order, yet we believe we have here a veritable treasure trove of information that would be useful for anyone in the market for a grandfather clock.  Whether you are thinking about purchasing an antique grandfather clock, a vintage grandfather or grandmother clock, or whether you are trying to understand the marketplace in general and whether to buy a new grandfather clock, we at 1-800-4CLOCKS are there for you both with these blogs, with many grandfather clock resources available on our website at 1-800-4CLCOKS.com, and we are always only a toll free phone call away at 1-800-4CLOCKS, and are delighted to talk with anyone who is serious about being in the market for a grandfather clock or grandmother clock, not to mention mantle clocks, cuckoo clocks, wall clocks, atomic clocks, and so much more.

We spend a lot of time to delving into the history of grandfather clocks themselves, the evolution of the major grandfather clock brands and how that has changed over time, and continues to be ever-changing.  We attempt to demystify the many features offered on many grandfather clocks, including illuminated dials, automatic nighttime shut-off, working vs faux moonphase dials and so much more.  The grandfather clock chimes are another key element that any thoughtful grandfather clock buyer will want to understand completely, and we address not only the different mechanical grandfather clock movement makers, as well as triple chime grandfather clocks vs single generally Westminster Chimes Grandfather Clocks, and when and where one might expect to see some of the less common grandfather clocks songs or chimes such as Beethoven’s Ave Maria or Schubert’s Ode to Joy.

Understanding the differences within and between grandfather clock brands, such as Howard Miller Grandfather Clocks compared to the Hermle Grandfather Clock collection, or Ridgeway Grandfather Clocks, Kieninger Clocks and Americana Grandfather Clocks.  All have pros and cons, and many have big differences even within their own grandfather clock line.

We even include some of the most popular posts about grandfather, grandmother, wall, mantle, cuckoo, atomic and other clocks on our main website, which we term the Best of, like Greatest grandfather clock Hits of music, for posts that our customers and readers have found especially useful.  We have one post on our grandfather clock blog which is titled Moving Grandfather Clocks, and that page is the single most visited page on our website.  We warrant the advice for what you as a customer pay for it, which is nothing, yet we have never had a negative comment or even any suggestions for changing this grandfather clock blog greatest hit of all time.

Any grandfather clock or other timepiece subjects you would like us to cover?  Just make a Comment to this post, or send us an email, or feel free to call us toll-free.  If you want to become a grandfather clock blog contributor, that is something to which we are also always open.

We Aspire to Become As Authoritative Buying Guide for Grandfather Clocks, Wall Clocks and Mantel Clocks as Consumer Reports is in General

Jaeger-LeCoultre collaborates with Hermes on a crystal-encased timepiece

05.15.13

The Swiss watchmaker collaborates with Hermes on a limited-edition timepiece that runs almost indefinitely

Collective Design Fair debuts in New York, showcasing 20th- and 21st-century treasures

05.09.13

A new design fair showcasing 20th- and 21st-century treasures debuts in New York City

Face Value

05.05.13

In early-20th-century America, two powerful men were engaged in a contest to possess the world’s most remarkable watch.

Grandfather Clocks Catalog

02.23.13

As a long-time leading retailer of grandfather clocks, we are frequently asked for our grandfather clock catalog.  This is especially true because of our roots in direct marketing as a grandfather clock catalog retailer with a memorable toll-free number.  Of course we have always sold and featured wall clocks, mantel clocks, cuckoo clocks, grandmother clocks, atomic clocks, antique grandfather clocks, and antique timepieces of all sorts including pocket watches and some amazing antique grandmother clocks, regulators, congreve clocks, inclined plane clocks, automata, sterling silver sundial-compass combinations and much more.

Antique clocks always present a special challenge to market in a catalog, as any experienced auction house knows.  There is almost always just one of the antique clocks or watches for sale, so listing these timepieces with a fixed price can create many headaches.  Yet at the same time, despite the currently appearing ubiquitous presence of auctions online and off, from eBay to Christies to Sothebys, many buyers and sellers prefer the old fixed price antique market model, much like one would find in a fine antique clock and watch shop.

Many readers of this blog post, the fifty and over generations, will remember to some degree the old Sears and Roebuck Catalog, that literally set the standard for the catalog direct marketing revolution that it began.  Even the Catalogs themselves became collector’s items, as did reprints of the original Sears Catalogs.

However, fast-forward one hundred years into the future, meaning today, and the web and individual websites like 1-800-4CLOCKS.com have taken over as the modern-days Catalogs of choice.  New grandfather clocks and wall clock collections can be added daily.  Grandmother Clocks on backorder can be noted as such so grandmother clocks on backorder will not disappoint customers.  Complete new lines and brands can be added in a day.  Consumer expectations about the customer shopping experience have gone through the roof, as grandfather clock shoppers and those searching for wall clocks discounts and mantel clocks on sale expect that anything they see on a website for sale is absolutely in stock.

Grandfather clock makers such as Howard Miller Clocks, Ridgeway Grandfather Clock Collection, Kieninger Clocks, and Hermle Floor Clocks are much better then ever before about providing more current inventory data.  Yet at the same time, this grandfather clock, wall clock and mantle clock data will not be real time.  And some clocks, including Kieninger Grandfather Clocks and wall clocks and mantle clocks, and some of the Hermle clock models, including Hermle Grandfather Clocks and Mantel and Wall Clocks can have a 2-4 month lead time and are generally considered prepaid custom orders.  This is hard to communicate either in an old-fashioned direct marketing catalog and even in a great website like the one we have at 1-800-4CLOCKS.

1908 Sears Roebuck Catalog Sold Clocks and Watches

1908 Sears Roebuck Catalog Sold Grandfather Clocks and Watches

The good news is that with the advent of the internet, we are able to offer both selection and savings never before imagined even 20 years ago.  More choices, higher discounts on the best grandfather clocks, better pictures of each clock, and even the ability to hear a specific clock chime and offer supersize pictures can all really recreate the grandfather clock gallery shopping experience.  A tradeoff is that many fewer of us bricks and mortar-type stores are surviving, especially as new and competing technologies are vying for some of the same shopping dollars that were previous spent on grandfather clocks and wall clocks.  Not only can one see the current time on most any personal computer or MacBook, but also on iPhones and other mobile devices including the Samsung Galaxy.

Having said that, there is nothing that competes with the old world charm of a grandfather clock or wall clock or mantle clocks, whether a new or antique clock.  A grandfather clock is truly the heartbeat of the home.

Page 1 of 212